The AM Forum
May 03, 2024, 08:08:45 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Any sausage stuffers out there?  (Read 16164 times)
KA1ZGC
« on: July 10, 2006, 04:14:57 PM »

First, the big announcement:

From the kitchens of ZGC Foods (a subsidiary of ZGC Laboratories) comes another of the fine products you have come to expect to bear the ZGC label: ZGC Sausage!

Yes, the makers of ZGC Barbecue Sauce have been working dilligently in our kitchens to produce this fine product; lovingly made from only the choicest cuts of ZGC Meats, our freshest ZGC Herbs and ZGC Spices, and all-natural ZGC Pig, Sheep, or Cow Intestines!

Okay, now I've got that out of my system...

Anybody else around here into sausage stuffing? I'm just getting into it myself. Certainly not the least repulsive thing I've done in the kitchen (  Lips sealed ), but the results are well worth the initial gross-out factor.

Saturday afternoon was the maiden voyage. Two pounds of hot italian sausage filled about 3-1/2 feet of hog casing, as you can see in the picture. The meat remaining in the grinder (playing the role of the stuffer) was just enough to fill one more link. Bummer, because that left me with another 3 feet or so of casing that had to be thrown out.  Undecided

On a separate-but-related topic, if I were to schlep a bunch of sausages to the fall Hosstraders, what are your preferences/favorites?

I'm already thinking bratwurst, kielbasa, hot italian, sweet italian, and bockwurst. Any others?

--Thom
Keep Around One Zesty Ground Critter

* 07-08-06_1531.jpg (36.11 KB, 640x480 - viewed 601 times.)
K3ZS

« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 04:21:49 PM »