The AM Forum
April 24, 2024, 08:24:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 ... 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: PW Series Modulated Transmitter  (Read 45593 times)
ka1tdq

Red part turned in for a refund.

« on: December 20, 2019, 12:10:53 PM »

I was thinking of a new tube project that would have low power and clean audio. The attached schematic uses four tubes. The RF section consists of a 5763 driving a 7984 Compactron, which is series modulated by a 6L6. A 12AU7 is the audio driver.

I calculated 62 mA of plate current on the 7984 for 15 watts carrier output.

I've never built a series modulated rig before and I borrowed pieces of schematics here and there. Any glaring errors in the schematic?

Jon

** I did just think of something else. With series modulation, the power output is cut in half because of the class A modulator. If I want 15 watts output, I'll need to calculate for 30 watts output. That puts plate current at 122 mA and brings plate impedance down to about 1450 ohms.

* IMG_1915.jpg (3874.49 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 898 times.)

It’s not just values, it’s business.
DMOD
AC0OB - A Place where Thermionic Emitters Rule!
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 01:03:36 PM »

I am not sure the 6G6 will handle the needed series current.

May I suggest a 6DQ5 for both the Final and the modulator if you want all tube rig? They are tough tubes and I have more than 8000 hours on one 6DQ5 final in a series modulated rig.

A better series modulated circuit IMHO is to use a HV power mosfet as the modulator since it has a lower series resistance.

Phil

Charlie Eppes: Dad would be so happy if we married a doctor.
Don Eppes: Yeah, well, Dad would be happy if I married someone with a pulse.NUMB3RS   Smiley
ka1tdq

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 03:08:16 PM »