Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
3 phase to single phase larger transmitters




 
The AM Forum
March 24, 2019, 08:24:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3 phase to single phase larger transmitters  (Read 1167 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« on: January 08, 2019, 07:02:48 PM »

There are several ways to run a 3 phase transformer on single phase.....Most are a compromise of some sort...The conversion linked to here is for a welding machine but the result should be the same for a transmitter plate transformer.   http://pounceatron.dreamhosters.com/docs/misc/CP-200_Single-Phase_Step-By-Step.pdf    Using motor run capacitors to achieve the proper circulation of currents in the iron core seems like it should be effective for a transmitter.  I'm not just sure how the capacitors "delay" the current to achieve proper phasing.. They don't say how the capacitance value was calculated but I presume it depends on the total current drawn.  Any comments about the "Haas-Kamp" method would be appreciated....  Steve KL7OF


addition:  Found this capacitance formula..https://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/transformers-phase-converters-and-vfd/miller-cp-250ts-converted-single-phase-206509/
is this correct?
Logged
SM6OID
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 157



« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2019, 10:40:38 AM »

Hi!

Usually I keep my mouth shout if I'm not sure of what I'm saying...
But, I curious about this, so let me share my thoughts.

The main problem I see is the (usually) varying load that the transformer will see.
As a result of this, the phase shift will vary.
I suspect that this will result in ripple in the DC voltage.

Remember that a 3-phase rectifier usually calls for a fairly small capacitor bank.
(Specially if the secondary is a combination of D/Y windings.)

IF the transformer is affected in any detrimental way, I do not know, have to ask my wife.
Logged

RADIO: 51J-4, R-390A, SP-600 JX-21, BRT-400, Set No 19, T-47/ART-13, RF-590, SRT CR91, BC-312D, BC-348Q, HF-8020/8030/8010A/8090,  and much more...

ENGINE: Zvezda M50 F6L (V12), Rolls-Royce Meteor mk4B/2 (V12), Rolls-Royce B80 (inline 8 ) and much more
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 01:01:19 PM »

Here is another approach...https://www.qsl.net/kf8od/transformer.html   I may try this one.  I am wondering about how much the current ratings will change.
Logged
W1ITT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 278


« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2019, 02:17:09 PM »

I looked at the band saw conversion of 3-phase to single-phase transformers.  I have a big honking one out in the garage that would be a nice candidate.  My concern is the the band saw would leave burrs that would short circuit most of the laminations to each other.  Perhaps a belt sander with progressively finer grit would solve this, followed by a varnish treatment.

By the way, that same KF8OD site has a good article on winding your own plate transformer on C-cores.  Now that Peter W. Dahl company is out of business, you have to do your own if you want good transformers. 
Logged
WZ1M
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 352


« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2019, 03:02:58 AM »

Burrs, shorted laminations, wont make a difference. Laminations should all be "shorted" anyway. I have done this trick with a few 3 phase beautys and found out that you have to experiment with the connections to make sure they are not out of phase. Just use a variable supply at 20vac, monitor the current draw which should be pretty close to nothing at 20 vac, on the primary. If its drawing a fair amount of current then try another connection. While your doing this to the primary, be sure that all the secondary windings are not connected. If they are, your just chasing your tail.
Regards,
Gary
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2200


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2019, 11:19:07 AM »

I've successfully disassembled several of them and set them up as single-phase jobs for clients. 

So far, the alternating nature of the lams allowed it to go together fine without any cutting. 

Look to get a little less than 2/3 the power out of it, or basically the difference between CCS and ICAS service.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7102



WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2019, 10:55:04 PM »

I vouch for the high quality of the above work.
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2019, 09:54:30 AM »

The plate iron from TMC GPT 10-K.  Spec book says 1.6 Amp.   Has 3 ea. multi-tap primaries and 3 ea. 3400V secondaries. It is set up as Delta primary, Wye secondary. weighs over 200 lbs.  I'm going to town to buy some new band saw blades...


* tmc plate txfmr1.jpg (118.02 KB, 720x1280 - viewed 68 times.)

* tmc plate txfmr2.jpg (142.2 KB, 720x1280 - viewed 54 times.)

* tmc plate txfmr3.jpg (115.46 KB, 720x1280 - viewed 47 times.)
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2200


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2019, 06:39:01 PM »

I find it easier (and cheaper) to restack them.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2019, 07:05:55 PM »

I find it easier (and cheaper) to restack them.

73DG
Dennis...Thanks for the information..Especially useful is your comment from your personal experience that one can expect a little less than 2/3 power out...I have been looking at the interleave pattern on the transformer I want to modify and it looks like I would have to take all the coils off and disassemble the entire 3 pillar core in order to restack them as a 2 pillar core....Is that how it works for you?  How long does it take to restack one of these things?  Any tricks for keeping the leaves aligned as you do it....?  I have several 3 phase transformers...I am going to try the Haas-Kamp method at some point as well....
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2200


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2019, 07:13:55 PM »

I have been separating the horizontal lams from those vertical thru the core, leaving them in the core(s).

Then I sort out those that will bridge the two cores with necessary clearance, and reinsert them.

Cut and redrill the angle irons and terminal plate, done.

This leaves a lot of silicon steel left over.  You can, if you have enuf steel from several rebuilds, make an "O" core with the single leftover core for a decent HV trans as well.

Around here, I'm lucky enuf to have real 3-phase power: 277/480 200A.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2019, 03:04:12 PM »

I sawed one core off my 3 phase transformer and hooked it up to the transmitter and it is working very well ...No hum....no buzz... no sparks...I did have to swap the leads around on the 240V primary to get everything in phase as recommended by Gary.  It  did nothing with the phase incorrect...This transmitter idles at 1/2 amp and that is all the load I've put on it so far..It was quick and easy to cut the core off and trim the mounting hardware down to fit..Im going to put some load on it this afternoon on 40 metros....I'll post the results....Thanks...Steve

UPDATE:   7290 khz... I ran the transmitter into the dummy at 2.5 KW carrier level ....yallos etc got all tuned up.. Transformer cool to the touch..No Buzzing, or flamage...got on the antenna..retuned...worked Calif on AM got a good report from Tom...then I .got an unsolicited report from an unidentified station that I was 10 kcs wide and had a hum..  So the transformer is working well...but I need more filtering ...the filter section is designed for 3 phase and comes up lacking on single phase...I'm happy...


* Look at those hams.jpg (85.07 KB, 564x624 - viewed 83 times.)
Logged
W2PFY
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13048



« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2019, 04:34:09 PM »

Very interesting! I wuz talking with Tim of HLR fame and he was explaining to me a way to hook up 3 phase to single without tearing it apart to do so. He also stated that the output in current would be about 2/3 of original. On my big Westinghouse MW-2, I had been using a 17 KVA  3 phase BC pull plate transformer. It can be wired wye or delta. I think it may have to be wired delta for it to work on 1 phase? At my camp where the big Westinghouse is located, I had to generate my own power to power it but the big 3 phase gen set has been broken for about 8 years now and I want to get the transmitter back on the air. My working gen set is a Generac at a rated power of seven KW. I need to get a real wiring diagram on how to change the connections on the transformer for it to operate on 240 volts AC. Can anyone on here draw up a diagram that I could use?

Thanks Terry
W2PFY
Logged

The secrecy of my job prevents me from knowing what I am doing.
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2019, 07:41:00 PM »

Terry ..there are a couple ways to run that big transmitter on single phase....see the link in the first entry in this thread  for the cap method and there is an article in electric radio on how to do it by wiring the single phase into the transformer to get the best flux patterns...I will look for a link to the ER article...neither method requires cutting....I have used the ER method...It gives full voltage at reduced amperage..
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2200


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #14 on: Yesterday at 01:43:34 AM »

Running it on single phase is pretty simple, pick two legs and fire in.  Your problem will be the rest of the PSU...it used to look for 360Hz ripple, now will be seeing 120Hz.  More cap necessary, and most 3PH supplies don't need a swinging choke as the source impedance is so low.  Get ready to add more iron, too.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1059


WWW
« Reply #15 on: Yesterday at 09:47:23 AM »

First, get a Variac for 240 volts.
Then find the primaries for each winding. Get out the clip leads, at reduced voltage, experiment to find out how to get the two primaries in phase to generate a secondary voltage. Then figure out the phase of the secondary to series the windings to generate the most voltage. Just ignore the third phase, it will not be used. Once you have everything in phase at low voltage you can crank up the primary voltage and adjust the taps on the primary and secondary to get the voltage you are looking for. All the transformers are a little different buy experimenting with a lower voltage and getting the phase figured out of the windings will get you there safely. This gets you 4000 Volts at a few amps easy with surplus 5K FM transformers. Just be careful. This stuff is lethal.
Keith
WA1HZK
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7102



WWW
« Reply #16 on: Yesterday at 10:15:40 AM »

Running it on single phase is pretty simple, pick two legs and fire in.  Your problem will be the rest of the PSU...it used to look for 360Hz ripple, now will be seeing 120Hz.  More cap necessary, and most 3PH supplies don't neede a swinging choke as the source impedance is so low.  Get ready to add more iron, too.

73DG

The ones with a choke will use a small one. I saved a 2.3H choke from a 5-7KVA 3-phase klystron power supply. I want to use that or a similar choke for use as a resonant filter. I'm not sure about voltage ratings needed. There is a difference between volts-to-GND and volts-across-winding.

Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
KL7OF
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2075



« Reply #17 on: Yesterday at 10:42:23 AM »

The original 3 phase setup had a 5 H choke input and a 5 uFcap...after converting the transformer to single phase, I paralleled in  another 5uF.  Ripple looks much better on the scope...no more reports of hum... I would like to have about 20H and 50 uF...  I'm having a difficult time finding components rated for 10KV+ locally
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2200


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #18 on: Yesterday at 11:06:48 PM »

You know where to go for that sort of stuff, Steve...:-).

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.078 seconds with 18 queries.