Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Hammerlund HQ-110A




 
The AM Forum
January 16, 2019, 01:48:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hammerlund HQ-110A  (Read 316 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
WB4YVO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 62


« on: January 08, 2019, 05:00:13 PM »

All, Has anyone worked on this receiver.. The dial string seems not to work.. But looking inside its connected  but when I spin the Dial nothing  What am I missing?

Skip
Logged
nq5t
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 516



« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2019, 11:18:42 PM »

All, Has anyone worked on this receiver.. The dial string seems not to work.. But looking inside its connected  but when I spin the Dial nothing  What am I missing?

Skip

Bunch of possibilities in no particular order.

Does the left dial turn when you turn the tuning knob?  If not, then there could be an issue with the friction drive under the chassis that turns this dial.  Could be misadjustment of the friction plates (loose), something missing, or grease that's found its way either between the friction plates or the edge of the round dial plate.  or perhaps the dial is not properly positioned between the plates.  It's also possible that the tuning capacitor is extremely stiff or frozen and just won't move.  Or that the set screw that mounts the round tuning dial to the shaft is loose.

If the left dial turns and properly turns the tuning capacitor, but the right dial isn't moving, then perhaps one or both of the string drive assemblies are loose on the respective shaft.
Logged
WB4YVO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 62


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 10:18:36 PM »




Ok, All Thanks..  The dial problem was the flywheel inside the chassis..  It was loose causing pinch drive to not engage..  After tighting all works as should..  Recapped the Electrolitics.. All other caps are Disc..Checked a few resistors and were in spec..

So I powered up .. At 117 volts draw was .600 Amps  .. Radio works but controls are scratchy.. so some cleaning required..

Thats the next step

Received signal generator all bands .. Dial calibration off on some bands.. 


Skip
Logged
K3ZS
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1034



« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2019, 07:58:07 AM »

Be careful with alignment.   The original manual I have was backwards on the diagram that showed the oscillator and alignment points.  The poor guy I bought it from had totally screwed up the alignment, even though the receiver worked perfectly after I aligned it.
Logged
WB4YVO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 62


« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 07:59:19 PM »

Ok Thanks  Do you have a correct copy?

Skip
Logged
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 317



« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 10:59:43 PM »

Quote
...The poor guy I bought it from had totally screwed up the alignment, even though the receiver worked perfectly after I aligned it....
I hate it when that happens!! Grin
Logged

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 18 queries.