The AM Forum
April 25, 2024, 10:37:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Omni VII on AM?  (Read 16278 times)
WS4B
« on: July 26, 2012, 10:44:16 PM »

The next few months I am planning to buy a brand new radio, which is something I have never done before. It is paramount that it can sound good on AM as well as have six meter capabilities. I want the presence of knobs and buttons, so I am not looking to go the SDR route.

I have read from web searches that the Ten Tec Omni VII is a really good sounding radio on AM. In addition it features 9 Kc AM recieve filtering from what I understand. So the point of this post is our these claims true? Has anyone had AM experience with this radio, or know of one who has?

Any feedback is most appreciated. Thank you.
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2012, 12:03:39 AM »

It's interesting that in the user's/operating manual, issue 1, the only mention of "AM" in the entire document is in the specification sheet where it's listed as one of the modes. I could not find any further reference to it in the entire document. In the product brochure they give "transmitter bandwidth 1000-4000 Hz" and "transmitter frequency response 70-4000 Hz max" but don't indicate what modes. Can't recall working anyone on AM that used one of these rigs.

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
W3GMS
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2012, 07:55:01 AM »