The AM Forum
May 02, 2024, 12:12:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antarctica Radio Schedule  (Read 17739 times)
wb1aij
« on: January 28, 2007, 07:13:25 PM »

Can anybody tell me the best time & frequency to hear & try to work an amateur radio station in Antarctica? My guess is that 20 meters is the band & SSB is the mode but are there any special times or frequencies. I have long wanted to work the bottom of the world but never put any research or effort into it until now. Any info is welcome as I am just starting out on this quest.
W2INR
Radio Syracuse
Founding

Syracuse Radio W2INR

« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2007, 07:44:41 PM »

Been Looking around for any published scheds - - - -  but I did find this

http://www.k2arb.blogspot.com/

I remember listening to the shortwave bands before I was a Ham and  I heard a conversation between an Antarctica station and some ham in the states using a phone patch to provide communications to the family of the scientist. It was cool. Drake 2B receiver then and some wire run outside. - - Ah the good ole days

G - The INR

Amateur Weather Station KNYSYRAC64
Creator - owner - AMfone.net - 2001 - 2010
Founding Member - NEAR-Fest
SWLR-RNØ54
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2007, 08:31:14 PM »

Check or subscribe to the ARRL weekly DX bulletin:
http://www.remote.arrl.org/w1aw/dx/2007-index.html
Amost every week shows some Antarctica activity.

Then check the DX Cluster sites to see who's working who, or hearing who, and on what frequency.
http://oh2aq.kolumbus.com/dxs/
OR
http://nc7j.qrq.com/

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
WA1GFZ

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2007, 08:53:54 PM »