The AM Forum
May 17, 2024, 05:55:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Root Canal - Is it painful?  (Read 29675 times)
W1RKW
Contributing

« on: June 15, 2006, 04:11:32 PM »

I was on a business trip last week and a tooth started giving me trouble.  Got home to see the dentist and he told me I have an abscessed tooth and need a root canal. Anyone ever have this procedure done?  Going in tomorrow for my first and hopefully my last but don't know what to expect.  Can't say that I like having sharp pointy implements of destruction in my mouth.

Bob
W1RKW
Home of GORT.
KA1ZGC
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2006, 05:20:54 PM »

I haven't had one, but I've always been told they aren't.

It's amazing how far they've come since even a young JN like me was a kid. I just had a tooth pulled a couple of weeks ago, totally painlessly, with only a sore gum afterwards. If your dentist is even halfway decent, it won't be painful, probably just unpleasant.

I just got back from an ultrasonic cleaning today. That's a blast. They take this hook that's vibrating ultrasonically with a built-in jet of water and dig away at your teeth with it. I don't know what frequency it's at, but it's got a wicked 8kc product when it's in contact with your teeth, and that conducts through your skull very well, thankyouverymuch!

To top it off, three more days of amoxycillin and metronidazole, the latter of which turns to The Dark Side in the presence of alcohol.  Lips sealed

Guess I should have taken care of my teeth when I was a kid.  Roll Eyes

I'm sure you'll be fine. Good luck with it.

--Thom
Keep Away One Zesty Green Cocktail
Jim, W5JO

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2006, 05:24:31 PM »

As painless as buying from Radio Mart.  Is your destist doing it or sending you to an Endodondist?  Enough Novacain and you won't feel a thing.