The AM Forum
May 12, 2024, 09:16:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Using a DVD disc in a CD-RW drive?  (Read 5068 times)
K1JJ
Contributing

"Let's go kayaking, Tommy!" - Yaz

« on: April 08, 2006, 10:23:42 PM »

Hola,

This is my first try at using CD read/write media.

I'm having trouble getting my CD-RW drive to recognize some new discs.

I bought some DVD 120 min/4 ghz discs and the drive keeps axing for me to insert the disc. Should I have gotten plain CD-RW discs?  I take it these are two different media, or is there a way to get DVD discs to work with the CD-RW drive?  Maybe I blew $20 for nothing.

I understand they need to be formated too, but I can't do that either.  I called Dell and they said my "warranty" was up, so I can't axe any questions.. [sigh]

Thanks.

T

Use an "AM Courtesy Filter" to limit transmit audio bandwidth  +-4.5 KHz, +-6.0 KHz or +-8.0 KHz when needed.  Easily done in DSP.

Wise Words : "I'm as old as I've ever been... and I'm as young as I'll ever be."

There's nothing like an old dog.
Vinnie/N2TAI
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2006, 11:00:32 PM »

Somehow the drives know what kind of disk is in it. So ypu probably will have to get the correct CD disks. The bright side is that the CD disks are much cheaper than the DVD disks.
WA3VJB
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2006, 11:03:16 PM »

Hey Tom welcome to the whorl of zeros and ones.

Nah, no can use DVD dits as the blank mediia for a CD writer. They are the same size, but the ink is different. These recorders "burn" a disc by heating up the ink with a laser head as the disc revolves. The result is a digital stream of telemetry. The track width of a DVD is a lot narrower than that of a CD.