Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Tiny Monster P/Supply




 
The AM Forum
September 25, 2017, 09:31:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tiny Monster P/Supply  (Read 350 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
KC4VWU
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 587


« on: September 10, 2017, 06:33:10 AM »

One of a few acquisitions from the Shelby hamfest. Another gigantic enclosure to add to the overflow of BA test equipment on the work desk. Would have been nice if they had added another section for adjustable heater voltage, definitely has the room for it! Just couldn't resist, 500VDC and 150mA. Guess I do have the option to add my own "A" and "C" sections.


* IMG_20170910_054439141.jpg (801.74 KB, 2592x1456 - viewed 75 times.)

* IMG_20170910_054448480_HDR.jpg (885.24 KB, 2592x1456 - viewed 72 times.)
Logged
WBear2GCR
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3382


Brrrr- it's cold in the shack! Fire up the BIG RIG


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 08:47:37 PM »


Looks like a simple lab supply, maybe never made as a commercial product, and just for in-house use?
The caps do not look that old, maybe they have been changed?? Or the entire guts replaced in an older
enclosure??
Logged

_-_- bear WB2GCR                   http://www.bearlabs.com
KC4VWU
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 587


« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 01:14:41 AM »

I've seen a couple others on the online auction site, so it was sort of mass produced. Just really surprised by the size of the cabinet compared to the circuit. Too much BA sized test equipment on the (small) workbench now, this will just add to it. Maybe I'll use it for the time being until I can commit to building my own. It would be nice to have an adjustable filament supply and decent bias supply all in the same enclosure. Had my mind on doing some tube testing/gettering with it. I've had my lesson on rotating in pulls to working equipment at a hefty price to pay; no fun!
Logged
PA2HGJ
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 10:36:27 AM »

I've got a similar power supply, it came from a local hospital. This kind of supplies where usually used for electrophoresis purposes in laboratories. That's why there is only HV and no filament supply.

Regards, PA2HGJ
Logged
W3RSW
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3184


Rick & "Roosevelt"


« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 02:41:10 PM »

I surmise He just changed out the caps from old USA made 20 uf Aerovox's to the new 47 uf ones.  Grin
Old cap and handful of terminal strips lurk nearby, not to mention the four now vacant mounting holes spaced just about the length of the old caps just below the rectifier socket.
Logged

RICK  *W3RSW*
KC4VWU
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 587


« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2017, 09:33:54 PM »

Yes, I forgot to mention that I had replaced the filter cap, only one 20mf @ 600VDC. It was mounted in the same place with one of those nylon p-clips. I don't try to re-form electrolytics, just replace them. Hope the Chinese replacements will live a while!

There is a IP-17 around here somewhere that I need to get started on, but the price was so right on this supply that I couldn't resist bringing it home.  I think I may add a fixed 6.3v filament and adjustable bias supply using some back to back L.V. transformers and adding a digital readout for that.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.034 seconds with 18 queries.