Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Viking VFO Voltages




 
The AM Forum
March 27, 2017, 10:27:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Viking VFO Voltages  (Read 402 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
N2LK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« on: March 07, 2017, 04:10:46 PM »

Hello, its me again....
I have been having decent success in stabilizing my Valiant VFO and have worked a number of qso's on cw so far with pretty decent reports.
The VFO still is a little unstable, occassional quick freq. jumps, tone shifts when switching between ZERO and VFO...still its much better than it was.

I changes some out of tolerance resistors and made some VFO voltage measurements, see attached.

All in pretty good shape but Terminal 8 should read zero and I am getting -7.5vdc on it....

This leads into the VFO to a coil in there...

Is this indicating a component I can zero in on to change (sorry for the bad pun)

Any thoughts greatly appreciated
73
John-N2LK


* VFO voltages.jpg (243.4 KB, 1328x747 - viewed 33 times.)
Logged
Pete, WA2CWA
Moderator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7605


CQ CQ CONTEST


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2017, 05:30:22 PM »

Tell us what Terminal 8 is connected to and then we can use the schematic.


Logged

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
N2LK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2017, 08:51:23 AM »

OK Pete, see highlighted schematic where Terminal 8 goes across C22 (300pf postage stamp cap) then into VFO compartment to L17.
From there it leads to Pin 5 (Plate) of XV1 6AU6 tube.

Resistance measurement is 90K at Terminal 8 (manuals says 100K +/- 20%). Voltage measurement there should be 0 in the table but I am reading a -7.5 vdc. No key down, rig set in CW mode, etc. per manual for measuring socket voltages.

Resistance at pin 5 (plate) of 6AU6 is 14.74K, appears within tolerance there.

I am wondering if C22 needs replacement??

Any thoughts appreciated
73
John-N2LK


* VFO schematic.jpg (244.58 KB, 1328x747 - viewed 28 times.)
Logged
Pete, WA2CWA
Moderator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7605


CQ CQ CONTEST


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2017, 02:17:34 PM »

If C22 was bad or leaky, you would read a positive voltage.
Logged

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
N2LK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2017, 03:17:58 PM »

OK, Thanks!
Logged
N1BCG
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 232


« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2017, 05:22:35 PM »

What position is the OSCILLATOR switch in? (C1, C2, VFO, Zero)

The 6AU6 is the VFO but not the crystal oscillator. The schematic shows the switch in the full CCW postion (C1).

It matters because Terminal 8 will likely have a negative voltage on it if the switch is in VFO or Zero because that circuit is connected to the -265V bias supply through a 47k (R42) and 1M (R7) resistor.
Logged
N2LK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2017, 09:13:02 PM »

Hi Clark-
I measured again and with Bias supply voltage at -263.9vdc and OSC in VFO position I read -20vdc on Terminal 8.
When I flip to ZERO it drops on Term 8 to -11vdc....in C1 or C2 position I read miliamps but unsteady, multi-meter is "hunting" for a readout.

I guess then I am ok in this dept then. I have replaced today the 2 - 500pf postage stamp caps in the VFO and will do the 1000pf caps tomorrow.
All resistors in VFO seem in tolerance, so hopefully the cap change (with all else I have done) will put the slight freq. jumps/changes to bed..

Thank you
73
John-N2LK
Logged
N1BCG
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 232


« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2017, 09:17:27 AM »

The VFO still is a little unstable, occassional quick freq. jumps, tone shifts when switching between ZERO and VFO...still its much better than it was.

Mine does that. Make sure your tube pins are clean and making a good connection. Are you hearing chirping?
Logged
N2LK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2017, 09:26:20 AM »

Its funny, I swapped out the 4 silver mica caps in the VFO yesterday and listening to the VFO on my receiver, sounds so smooth now
All bands, was so easy to calibrate 160 and 40 meters last nite.

So I tune up on 80M this AM and hear some chirp on 80m while actually transmitting. This was not an issue till now..I had the chirp settled.
The VFO signal in Zero and VFO sounds GREAT, steady, smooth...but in transmit I have some little crud..still have to check other bands.

Must be downstream from VFO, I am not going back into that VFO again...done with that...keyer circuit I am suspicious of now.
All fun..
73
John-N2LK
Logged
N8ETQ
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 770


Mort


« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2017, 06:52:03 PM »



   Hey John,


         U may want try this..

   From the WA3DSP write up on the "Ranger", Same
thing as far as the VFO is concerned.

http://www.crompton.com/hamradio/JohnsonRanger/RangerModsSchematic1_2-5-2013.pdf


* LV Reg..gif (15.84 KB, 608x262 - viewed 23 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.074 seconds with 18 queries.