The AM Forum
April 28, 2024, 08:06:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cathode Modulation  (Read 17498 times)
W4DNR

« on: January 07, 2016, 10:05:44 PM »

Hello Guys,

I asked Steve to move my questions about Cathode Modulation  to a new thread instead of hijacking the "Screen Modulation Again"  thread.

A little about me :

I'm a Broadcast Engineer in Huntsville Alabama ,,.

Retired from full-time TV engineering supervision three years ago after 44 years.

I still contract with several AM and FM radio stations to keep my fingers in the hobby   ( I've never had a job... just a hobby of playing with other people's transmitters ).

Over the years, I've probably rescued several AM transmitters from the scrap pile and my garage has a couple of mostly intact  transmitters and a lot of Iron .... modulation transformers , HV transformers , missing a Mod Reactor ....

I am considering a build with several 833 tubes that I have for a 160 and 80 meter AM project.

I could bring the big iron in and maybe find a suitable mod reactor, but the subject of cathode modulation came up at the local ham club a few weeks ago, and I thought that maybe some of you have had experience with cathode modulation in some shape or fashion.

Anyway, I would appreciate any advice on how to cathode modulate a pair of 833 tubes.

Don W4DNR

( moved posts below )

Just Curious !!

Screen modulation...

Cathode modulation ...

Several broadcast transmitters use Cathode Modulation,  but I don't recall
any that use Screen Modulation.

Is there a reason that Screen Modulation is popular on the Ham Bands ?

With high current transistors and FETs  in the tens of amps, it
looks like modulating the cathode of a .5 amp tube would be a
piece of cake ...    dealing with voltages well below screen voltages.