The AM Forum
May 16, 2024, 07:53:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Choke input filter power supply "Critical value of Inductance" questions  (Read 20760 times)
KJ4OLL
Contributing

« on: January 02, 2015, 10:29:58 AM »

Hi,
Using my last few days of vacation to make some progress on my first attempt on a homebrew amp.
N2ZAB educated me (I'm not an engineer!!) about the flaw in the power supply design, so I am fixing it.

It is fun to learn this technology, even though at my age, there are only about 3 functioning synapses remaining, and two of them are always looking for my glasses.

The power supply uses a choke input filter.
The power supply is a single phase, full-wave rectifier, sine wave source voltage design.

Filter circuit:
- not resonant, no luck finding the components at auction sites and hamfests that would form a resonant circuit, can't afford to have them manufactured.
- not a swinging choke.
- Just using what I could find: Fair Radio had some 10H fixed chokes from some kind of Gates.

The "Critical Value of Inductance" is what I missed.

Searching the forums and the web and found lots of good information.

The 2013 handbook has a couple of paragraphs on choke input filters.

Found many different formulas to calculate the Critical value of Inductance for this application.

I have used two of them, (the one from the handbook, and one from a paper by Henry Pasternack) just to see if they agree,
and if I am getting close.

PLATE VOLTAGE
There are three output taps on the plate transformer.
Using the "2600" to start with.
4000 and 4500 are also available if I feel lucky.

If the filter choke can be made to work as it should, I could use the "4000" tap and obtain a B+ of about 3600 VDC, which is probably OK for the two 6MFD filter caps, as they are rated at 5kv.