The AM Forum
April 26, 2024, 09:37:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 ... 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AM - What's really happening?  (Read 69248 times)
HIPAR
« on: January 15, 2005, 04:03:53 PM »

I 'm new here.  My name is Charles and I have been a HAM since 1959.  I even have a commercial radiotelephone license.  That only means I have probably answered all the FCC questions about AM correctly.

' In my head are many facts T
hat, as a student, I have studied to procure,
In my head are many facts..
Of which I wish I was more certain I was sure! '

(King of Siam - The King and I)

When I question the details, I really don't understand how AM works .

I have heard AM modulation described as a process during which the amplitude of a carrier signal is varied in accordance with the amplitude of an information waveform.  This is not so.

A look at the equation describing the spectrum of an AM signal shows the three distinct components.  The origional carrier, with no variations in amplitude due to the modulation and the two sidebands created from the modulating power.

My first hurdle to overcome is the AM scope pattern.  Why does it show zero amplitude on the negative peaks of a 100% modulated signal when a carrier of nonvarying amplitude is continuously present?  I'm not sure if I'm correct, but here is my explaination:  

The AM scope pattern vector sum of the three components.  Since the sidebands are frequencies offset from the carrier, they are continuously varying in phase with respect to it and the additions and subtractions result in a pattern that represents some kind of envelope.

This is a hurdle that I haven't been able to rationalize: