The AM Forum
May 13, 2024, 08:02:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Vertical Antennas  (Read 14575 times)
W2INR
Radio Syracuse
Founding

Syracuse Radio W2INR

« on: April 20, 2013, 09:29:05 AM »

I want to add a vertical antenna to the antenna system here but I have had little experience with commercial gear. Yes commercial gear is the way I wish to travel on this.

The antenna would be used as an general receive for the sub receiver on my FT 1000d but I would also like to use it on transmit for SSB and low power( or legal limit ) AM on 160 - 10m.

There seems to be three types out there, trap, resonant and non-resonant verticals.

Any experiences or recommendations?

G

G - The INR

Amateur Weather Station KNYSYRAC64
Creator - owner - AMfone.net - 2001 - 2010
Founding Member - NEAR-Fest
SWLR-RNŲ54
wa3dsp

« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 11:44:31 AM »

You did not mention your budget. The HighGain 18HT high tower is still available at about a grand. I use a Butternut ground mounted vertical with quite a few radials. It has been up for 22 years in my back yard near Philadelphia without a problem. I took it down once for maintenance.  There are tons of verticals out there but I would stay away from trap and radial free designs unless you don't have the room.
WQ9E

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 10:23:49 PM »

I put up a 18HT about 10 years ago now.  I am not sure if the MFJ version base insulators were inferior or if it was from the heavy winds here in IL but the insulators failed about 4 years after installation.  The Hy Tower was in the clear and neither it nor anything else was damaged.  MFJ sent a new insulator setup and I also decided to guy it with some non-conductive guying material and so far no problems for years.