The AM Forum
April 27, 2024, 06:46:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TEN TEC AMP  (Read 8851 times)
W8UJX

« on: September 07, 2012, 08:50:37 PM »

I'm rebuilding the power supply in my Ten Tec Centurion amp.
The circuit uses 20 ea 1KV diodes and eight 220 uf, 450 VDC caps in series in a full wave brige circuit.

I see caps ranging in price from $2 to $10 each on Ebay.  I have no experience with these caps.  My question is which caps are ok and which caps should I stay away from.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jerry, W8UJX since 1954   
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2012, 09:19:16 PM »

Do you need axial or radial? Mouser probably would be a more reliable source for "fresh" capacitors then ebay. Get caps with a higher temp. coefficient rating. Not a part to skimp on price especially in a linear.

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
N4LTA
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2012, 09:19:57 PM »

Buy some good name brand low ESR caps from Mouser or Newark. They are less than $10 each in 10 quantity.

Get something like Nichicon or United Chemicon or Cornell Dublier. I just looked at Mouser and they have some low ESR scap for around $6 in tens. I'd stay away from EBAY and buy new stuff from a reputable dealer.

Pat
N4LTA
WQ9E

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2012, 09:58:25 PM »

Go with Mouser and also go with 105 C caps instead of the lower cost 85 degree units.

Rodger WQ9E
N8ETQ

Mort

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2012, 07:18:23 AM »

Hey Jerry,

You may want to look at this guy.

http://www.wjoe.com/capacitors.htm

I made up a 10uF 4Kv bathtub for an HT33B using 10
100Uf Radials @ 400V. Good price for 105C Nichicon's.
Fast ship too.

/Dan

* Easter_2012 031.jpg (331.19 KB, 1368x1824 - viewed 534 times.)
W8UJX