Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
voltage doubler




 
The AM Forum
September 16, 2019, 09:09:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: voltage doubler  (Read 1909 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
K5IIA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 392



« on: August 04, 2012, 07:58:12 PM »

do you have to use polarized caps on a doubler cirucit like this?

http://www.stevencaton.com/400%20V%20Full%20Wave%20Doubler.html
Logged

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

73, Brandon K5iia
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7280



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 08:32:44 PM »

only if the capacitor type requires that it be charged by DC only
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
K5IIA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 392



« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 08:47:51 PM »

gotcha so the circuit would not require it.

for the diodes. lets say that the output voltage will be 2kvdc

would 2 diodoes for d1 and 2 diodes in series for d2 be correct. if they are 1kv prv

just didnt know how to look at it sence d1 and d2 are in series and the way i will do it d1 and d2 will be made up of a few diodes each in sereis.
Logged

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

73, Brandon K5iia
K3YA
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2012, 09:05:51 PM »

Voltage doubler require a relatively high amounts of capacitance to achieve good filtering and regulation.  If you have any significant current draw on the supply you will need capacitor values that are most practically achieved with polarized electrolytic caps.  What is the application of this supply?

I would use at least a 4 or 5  1kv diode string in in place of a single diode.  Diodes are cheap and you need plenty of safety factor.
Logged
K5IIA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 392



« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2012, 09:52:35 PM »

no application. i was building a regular bridge supply for a modulator i am building and just got to thinking about how a doubler works. and when i started readin on it, i had a few questions.

Logged

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

73, Brandon K5iia
W3GMS
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2956



« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2012, 02:40:03 PM »

A good tutorial in voltage doubler topology.  Stay awake now Smiley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=byCtTlUlHXo


Joe, W3GMS
Logged

Simplicity is the Elegance of Design---W3GMS
K5IIA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 392



« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2012, 10:07:06 PM »

thanks for the vid.
Logged

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

73, Brandon K5iia
W3GMS
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2956



« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2012, 01:21:25 PM »

Your welcome Brandon. 

Those videos reminds me of when I was in training in the Army.  Somehow they would always have us watch them right after lunch and you better not fall asleep or else Smiley

The technical content is very good on them.  A lot of the military training manuals are good to have in ones library. 

Joe, W3GMS
Logged

Simplicity is the Elegance of Design---W3GMS
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.058 seconds with 18 queries.