The AM Forum
May 04, 2024, 06:00:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Viking II audio mod questions  (Read 3505 times)
Peter/SWL
« on: July 30, 2012, 04:18:06 PM »

Hello, this is my first time posting.

I bought a Viking II at a hamfest this year. I noticed there's a audio mod done to it.
It's the "Audio Conversion for Johnson Viking I and II" mod from AMWindow website.

I have some questions, if anybody can help.

1. According to the schematic there's two 10 uf 25v caps and two 8 uf 450v caps. Are they electrolytics?

2. If they are electrolytics, the schematic doesn't show any polarity. What's the positive and negative polarity on the schematic?

3. I have all the parts in the audio mod schematic, accept three are missing, the 10 uf 25v attached to pin 8 of the 12AX7. Missing also, is the two 8 uf 450v caps. Why would these be missing? I would think they're suppose to be in the circuit.

Peter

* viking2.gif (62.36 KB, 881x485 - viewed 419 times.)
ke7trp
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 04:47:02 PM »

The 10 UF's are cathode bypass caps.  The higher the value the more low end (bass) you are going to get.  If you go to high then you might let HUM into the audio chain.  Typical values are 25 to 50UF. 

The 8's  at 450 Volts are extra filter sections added to the B+ for the plate supply.  I guess this is to lower the ripple on the supply and stiffen the B+.   

The polarity is there on the schematic, as you can see one side of the cap goes to Ground.  That would be the - or negative lead of the capacitor.  The Positive side is the side that goes to Pin 8 and or the voltage side such as the plate lead or B+ for the 8's.

C
KA0HCP
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2012, 06:31:04 PM »

Welcome aboard, Peter!

Nothing like jumping in with both feet!

Cheers, Bill