The AM Forum
April 25, 2024, 10:02:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Viking 1 no Grid Current on meter  (Read 10608 times)
AB5OR

« on: November 27, 2011, 06:29:04 PM »

I need some help finding out where to look.  I am new at my Viking 1 we just got working (sort of).   In tuning, it was discovered that the grid current isn't working in the meter.  It is generating grid current as we were able to get it tuned somewhat  and watching it produce output on a watt meter.   Anyhow, I am wondering where to look first at why I am not showing grid current.   All the other meter settings are fine.   First thing I know we'll do is clean the contacts, and especially on the ceramic switch below the meter.   I am wondering if a resistor or something simple could be the culprit.    I definitely want my grid current to be accurate !

Thanks for any help in advance to this newbie.   

Joe
WQ9E

« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 06:48:40 PM »

Joe,

Is it producing near normal output?  If so then you can safely assume you have  enough drive and the problem is definitely in the metering circuit.

The meter shunt itself must be intact because otherwise you would pin the meter even with minimal grid current AND when not in the grid metering position the final would have no bias and would be very upset.

It could be the switch but since it works on other ranges I would suspect one of the wires from the switch to the shunt.  As a quick check, identify the leads from the grid shunt to the meter switch and then with the switch in any position other than grid check for continuity between those leads and the resistance should be very low.  If you do get this low reading then suspect the switch, otherwise it is probably a bad connection or broken wire.