The AM Forum
May 13, 2024, 09:14:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Old Buzzard Parts  (Read 3357 times)
ashart
« on: August 27, 2011, 04:42:20 PM »

I've been kicking around ham radio for 70 years, and until hanging round this site, have never encountered the term Old Buzzard Parts.

Can somebody please explain the meaning or origin of the term?

73 de al hart, w8vr.
Todd, KA1KAQ
Administrator

AMbassador

« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 06:29:02 PM »

It's a term referring to the true old timers among us, Al. While I can't tell you precisely who or when it started, it's been used for a number of decades on the east coast. I suspect Tim, WA1HLR, may be the originator with his oratory over the years between the then-fictitious W1PW and W1JS. Both calls have since found new owners.

The QSO revolves around two old buzzards having a typical, sometimes stuffy, old buzzard contact, resplendent with old terminology, old mannerisms, and the good wife Mable and her homemade, hot apple PIE. Terms like 'old buzzard contact' refer to this format, and folks like Ozona Bob, Ashtabula Bill, and other operators who were around forever, and could talk endlessly it seemed, resulting in old buzzard transmissions.

This is no doubt an oversimplification, but to the best of my knowledge, that's where it came from.

known as The Voice of Vermont in a previous life
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 06:31:46 PM »

There are lots of words, phrases, acronyms, etc. used around here that many have never heard of. No different then trying to improve your English language usage by listening to CB's Channel 19 and several other channels.

"Old buzzard parts" an endearment term of "old fart stuff"

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
K5UJ
Contributing