The AM Forum
April 20, 2024, 06:32:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sherwood Sync  (Read 32178 times)
N8AFT
Contributing

« on: June 20, 2011, 04:18:11 PM »

Please tell of your experiences using an outboard sync detector, such as the SE6 for ham AM use. I can't find any reference other than for BCB and SWL AM uses, even on their website. Receiver here is a Miltronix EAC R390a... Thanks, Lane.

73 from Lane. Columbus,Ohio.
k4kyv
Contributing Member
Don

« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2011, 04:55:37 PM »

I have been using one with my 75A-4 for several years, and wouldn't be without it. I would recommend the later version with the "AR" mode, which makes it much easier to operate on the ham bands in a QSO where stations are usually not zero beat with each other.  I pull the signal off the last i.f. stage where it feeds the diode detector.  Pulled out the diode detector tube to get easy access to the i.f. signal, and pulled out the 6AQ5 audio output tube to save power drain and reduce heat generation.

It was expensive, but I got mine essentially as an even swap for a tube-type Collins audio peak limiter I was no longer using. Thanks to a friend I was able to get it at a deep discount, and then turned round and sold the peak limiter to a recording studio hobbyist for a more than what I paid for the Sherwood.

It not only enhances AM reception compared to the diode detector; the audio quality of SSB is better that what I could ever get with the stock Collins product detector, beyond comparison.

With AM signals, the audio quality of strong stations is improved, selective fading reduced or eliminated and it pulls weak signals out of the noise and through the interference, sometimes making the difference between perfect readability and marginal or no copy.