The AM Forum
May 03, 2024, 01:56:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Johnson Ranger questions  (Read 4867 times)
K2DN
« on: June 08, 2011, 06:24:42 PM »

I have zero experience with these old boat anchors and I have a couple of questions:

1) I do not have a boat anchor receiver so I have been trying to use my Yaesu FT-920 as a receiver. I have an antenna relay that works well, but even with the antenna to the Yaesu switched off, I can still hear myself in the Yaesu when transmitting with the Ranger. I can even hear myself when I switch to antenna B on the Yeasu and there is no antenna hooked up to the B port. I don't want to screw up the Yaesu, so what I have been doing lately is switching the Yaesu to the B VFO which is tuned to a different band when transmitting with the Ranger and then quickly switching back to the A VFO so I can hear the other station. Is there anything else I can do that would not require flipping so many switches?

2) My daughter says she can hear me talking in her computer speakers when I transmit with the Ranger. I do not have this problem with the Yaesu in any mode using the exact same antenna. Is this something I need to worry about, or is she just going to have to get used to me talking in her speakers Smiley

Thanks,
Todd
K2DN
kg8lb
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 07:30:06 PM »

Not certain what muting provisions the Yaesu has but there will be someone to help there. Killing the antenna alone is not enough even with boat anchor receivers. It does help to disconnect the antenna and ground the ant input on the RX but secondary measures are also in order.