The AM Forum
May 16, 2024, 03:51:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Phased KAZ Antennas  (Read 10401 times)
WA1GFZ

« on: November 30, 2010, 11:39:20 AM »

Playing with phased KAZ to find the best approach. Dallas Lankford flips the phase of the front antenna 180 degrees then adds a phase line to the rear loop so the null is improved. Anybody have any suggestions? A simple delay on the front antenna seemed to play ok. Simulation shows both work. My approach didn't require a different delay line length when you change bands.
I'm hoping to use the antenna 160 through 40
WA1GFZ

« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 04:31:06 PM »

I studied the phase flip Dallas does and found it gurantees a cancel off the back of the array at all frequencies since the delay line and antenna spacing are equal.
My method guarantees phase add from the front side. Since we prefer cancel off the back I think the Dallas method is superior. Good thing I didn't switch back this morning before work.
WA1GFZ

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 10:00:53 PM »

More testing showed the D.L. phase flip configuration only improves S+N/N with two elements when the element spacing plus delay line of the rear antenna is in phase with the front element. My case only on 40 meters with quarter wave spacing and quarter wave delay line adds up to 180 degrees matching the front element phase flip. On the other bands the null was there but the signal didn't improve with the second element, it went down.
So back to the first configuration to see if a second element is worth doing and still cover 3 bands. My configuration will always be in phase from the front but will the null still work off the back?Huh
K1JJ
Contributing

"Let's go kayaking, Tommy!" - Yaz

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 10:46:56 PM »

Frank,