The AM Forum
April 20, 2024, 07:56:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 ... 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Legal Limit on 160?  (Read 41351 times)
KA3EKH

« on: November 19, 2010, 03:18:44 PM »

Ok, now that I can develop three to four hundred watts of carrier with no issues from my old RCA transmitter the question is what should my carrier power be? People have been telling me something about it having to be no greater than 325 watts of carrier because when you figure in both sidebands the total will be one kW. Sounds fishy to me, I am new to the AM 160 "Ham" world but spent around thirty years working in both radio and TV broadcasting and in the commercial world have seen were the old analog television stuff was rated in peak envelope but every AM and FM radio station I have ever dealt with is rated in carrier power. A 1 kW AM station is 1 kW CW power and I have always assumed 100 percent peak positive to be 2 kW although most broadcasters run above 100 % positive and 100 % negative is 0 kW. Is an armature station responsible for its peak envelope power or its carrier power? And last but not least if I limit my positive peaks to 90% my PEP at 0.5 kW will still be below 1.0 kW so where does 0.325 kW come from?  I have gone thru several field inspections for some of the 5.0 kW AM station I take care of and never have had any issues deterring power with the FCC, Its always plate E and I times efficiency but this whole ham thing is a mystery.
Ray Fantini
KD6VXI
Contributing

Making AM GREAT Again!

« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 03:59:42 PM »

On a 100 percent modulated carrier, your PEP value will be 4 times carrier.

IE, you run 350 watts of carrier, you have 1400 watts PEP, modulated 100 percent in the pos and neg directions.

Welcome to the 'armature' world.. Smiley

--Shane
KD6VXI
WA1GFZ