The AM Forum
May 15, 2024, 05:57:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Troubleshootin Hammarlund SP-600  (Read 8778 times)
iw5ci
I love old radios

« on: October 07, 2010, 06:46:50 AM »

I Got a new SP-600 from a friend and i would like to repair it. I need help as i am just learning to work on this beauties (i have recapped my 600 with good results).

About the new one is that is different from the other. For example there is no Diode output . Instead it have a PHONO input.

The capacitors are also different. Ceramic or Sprague bathtub instead of BBOD , unfortunately there insn't' the version plate as it have been removed.

Actually the radio turns on , i can ear white noise from the speaker and if insert an audio signal in the rear phono input i can ear it amplified in the speaker. So the BF section is operational, but the radio doesn't receive anything. No signals in any band even if i insert a strong signal with the generator in the antenna plug.

i have cheched the RF section tubes and they are good. Now i have to make some test to insulate where is located the fault before starting to change components without reason . Where to start from?

I have a digital tester a signal generator and a station monitor that i can use as oscilloscope anything else.

thanks for help!

SM6OID

« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 07:20:43 AM »

Hej !

I've been told that SP-600's above serialnumber "17 000 something" do not have the Black Beautys of Sudden Death, ceramic caps are used instead. Both my SP-600 JX-21 are slightly above serialnumber 20 000, hence I do not have a problem with the capacitors. BUT I do have "Diode load output" not "phono".

Next simple step can be to inject IF to see if that part is alive, and I would guess it is since you hear noice?
What does the S-meter tell you?