The AM Forum
April 26, 2024, 12:28:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transmitter Project, more early stage musings  (Read 22624 times)
W7SOE
Contributing

« on: September 13, 2010, 06:09:07 PM »

I just received my plate transformer from Bill, KD0HG.  Thanks again Bill!

What a monster!  It is easily 75 lbs.  3560/4580 VAC and 1440 VA.

I will modulate a pair of 813s with 813s.  I am reconsidering the power output that I desire.  I am also going to go without a heising reactor (BC-610 mod xfmr), at least initially.

I have never built a transmitter before and I have a lot of learning to do.  I want to scale back this project to minimize the troubles that I will run into but leave the possibility to "scale up" later.  For instance, do I really want to go for a 500W carrier with my close in QTH and simple inverted V antenna?  Perhaps I should go for 200W?  Perhaps modulate a single 813?  I could always add a second right?  I could always add a Heising reactor later right?  

I know y'all have tons of experience with this stuff but what would be the "sane" path for a slob like me?

At least I have more plate transformer than I will ever need.  This thing scares me just sitting here on my bench.  ;-)

Rich

* plate_xfmr.JPG (442.45 KB, 1296x968 - viewed 452 times.)
W1RKW
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 06:43:28 PM »

Headroom! Do 500w. 2(813) x 2(813). Be done with it. The shake down will be the same whether big or small.

Bob
W1RKW
Home of GORT.
WA1GFZ

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 07:38:05 PM »

going 1 to 2 will cut the plate Z in half so pi network will need to change.