The AM Forum
April 28, 2024, 08:52:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ranger 1 issues  (Read 13814 times)
K5OG
« on: January 17, 2010, 08:35:47 AM »

Good morning.  I have been using my Ranger to drive my Desk KW for several years.  Recently I've received reports of hum in my audio.  Here is what I have found:
1.  OSC meter at half scale in Zero Pos
     Pegged in VFO or XTAL pos
2. With or without a mic plugged in I get the following
1.4vac at C78+, 300v line
V7B pin 7 no noise or hum with audio gain pot at min or max.
V7B pin 6 .1vac hum with audio pot at min.  As gain is increased a really nasty, almost sine wave appears.  .3v with pot at mid range.  .8v distortion at V9 and V10 pin 5.
All electrolytic caps have been replaced and I can't find anything obvious.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
73 de K5OG
WQ9E

« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 08:53:56 AM »

Is the carrier clean with no audio?  Listen to your spotting signal because if the hum is from the B+ supply it will show up on the spotting signal; no audio needed.  I had multiple Ranger issues causing hum with my Desk KW.  If the carrier is dirty, you need to address that first.

If the spotting signal is clean, have you tried substituting a different 12AX7A?  It could be a simple case of heater cathode leakage.  Are decoupling caps C51 and C55 OK?