The AM Forum
April 28, 2024, 04:20:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Restoring Apache TX-1  (Read 21007 times)
AB3FL
« on: January 28, 2009, 06:49:46 AM »

Hi all,

I am new to boatanchors.  I am working on an Apache TX-1.  I have a few questions

1) The plate current swings down instead of up on modulation.  The manual says that it should swing up

2) What should the windings on the modulations transformers read in ohms on a DC meter

3) The VFO seems to have a second harmonic on 80M that I would like to get rid of

thanks all

Tom - AB3FL
Jim KF2SY

« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 01:38:07 PM »

From this recent thread, someone put schizmo up...
http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php?topic=18411.0

My eyes lie to me sometimes but it looks like 11k on primary and k? on secondary?
Which now begs the questions........., do you have the schematic with your manual?
Whatz the modulated Rf waveform look like on a scope?
Whatz the plate voltage doing?  Huh
Huh?....Huh??.....Huh??.....Huh??
More info needed.  Get your meter out and start pluggin' at it.  Check PS's and bias voltages etc.

G/L
AB3FL
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 01:39:33 PM »

I took out the modulation transformer.  The primary is shorted.....from the center tap to one end its 250 ohm from the cetner tap to the other end its 20 ohm
W1EUJ
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 01:44:37 PM »

Rewind time for that transformer. Call Gary, WZ1M
w8khk

This ham got his ticket the old fashioned way.

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 01:53:11 PM »

From this recent thread, someone put schizmo up...
http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php?topic=18411.0

My eyes lie to me sometimes but it looks like 11k on primary and k? on secondary?
Which now begs the questions........., do you have the schematic with your manual?