Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
AMfone condensed or WAP




 
The AM Forum
October 24, 2017, 12:08:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AMfone condensed or WAP  (Read 15587 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
W2INR
Radio Syracuse
Founding
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1156


World Wide Radio


WWW
« on: February 03, 2008, 09:40:34 PM »

After reading John, K5PRO's post we realized that many may have a slow enough connection that they are not able to use the site.

There is a READ ONLY version which is text only and it is also WAP (wireless access protocol) that can be used vis cellphones etc. 

The url is http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php/wap.html

I hope this helps. We have tested it on the cellphones and find it works good.

Have fun with it

G
Logged

G - The INR

BENEVOLENT DICTATOR & Owner  - AMfone.net - 2001 - 2010
Founding Member - NEAR-Fest
SWLR-RNŲ54
k4kyv
Contributing Member
Don
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10062



« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 04:14:13 AM »

I tried it out using this computer.  Like this format better, but each page loads FAST!
Logged

Don, K4KYV                                       AMI#5
Licensed since 1959 and not happy to be back on AM...    Never got off AM in the first place.

- - -
This message was typed using the DVORAK keyboard layout.
http://www.mwbrooks.com/dvorak
WA3VJB
Guest
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2008, 05:34:29 AM »

Gary you've always tried to remember the po'folks on dialup, and the new text-only site will help them a lot, as well as those on cellphones and PDAs who want a quick fix of amfone.

It loads quickly but, wow, it's rather stark to look at. I just have to re-scale my viewing expectations when I'm on the text-pager. Spoiled I suppose by the graphics that have been built-out these days on the main site.
 
Can't have everything, at least not all at once.
Logged
W2INR
Radio Syracuse
Founding
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1156


World Wide Radio


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2008, 07:29:42 AM »

You can also try this:

http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php/wap2.html

This version allows input. You can navigate the site, log in, view PM's, reply to posts, start a post etc.

G
Logged

G - The INR

BENEVOLENT DICTATOR & Owner  - AMfone.net - 2001 - 2010
Founding Member - NEAR-Fest
SWLR-RNŲ54
WBear2GCR
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3391


Brrrr- it's cold in the shack! Fire up the BIG RIG


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2008, 11:32:33 AM »

Odd, I'm stuck on a dialup that measures in at ~24kb max.

I have no trouble loading pages - they're not blazing fast, instant like on broadband, but they're not terribly slow either.

So, sounds like something else might be going on if someone is getting really slow slow slow load times and has a connection that is 24kb-56kb and not stuck at 9600!! Maybe a virus or worm is messing wit de innards??

           _-_-bear

PS. just tried "wap2" - geez that is fast!! takes ya instantly back 20 years on the internet in an instant!!  Grin Grin Heh heh...
Logged

_-_- bear WB2GCR                   http://www.bearlabs.com
W3RSW
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3189


Rick & "Roosevelt"


« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2008, 02:00:34 PM »

I'm impressed.    --Very  nice.
Think  I'll use WAP2 too!
Reminds me of HUZ's page in the old days.
R.
Logged

RICK  *W3RSW*
W2INR
Radio Syracuse
Founding
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1156


World Wide Radio


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2008, 05:38:24 PM »

Whats funny is this has been in operation for years. When we first tried this software Blaine suggested adding WAP so we could monitor it away from the machine. It has sat there ever since.

 A few weeks ago Huzman ran across this and asked me about it. When I saw Johns post I thought this would be a great solution for our brothers on dial up.

G
Logged

G - The INR

BENEVOLENT DICTATOR & Owner  - AMfone.net - 2001 - 2010
Founding Member - NEAR-Fest
SWLR-RNŲ54
WB2CAU
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 342


« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2008, 11:23:36 PM »

It looks just like Craig's List
Logged

"Life is tough, but it's tougher if you're stupid." -- John Wayne
Sam KS2AM
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 627



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2008, 02:25:04 AM »

The wap2 format looks good!  Can the url for this be shortened to amfone.net/wap2 ?
If you don't have the site in your browser history or saved in your favorites, this url would be much easier to remember and manually enter on a mobile device.

Sam
(sent from my Windows Mobile 6 device)
Logged

--- Post No Bills ---
N5RLR
Extra With A Side Of Fries
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 334


Supremely Lurking


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2008, 06:23:47 AM »

Quote from: BEAR
Odd, I'm stuck on a dialup that measures in at ~24kb max.

I have no trouble loading pages - they're not blazing fast, instant like on broadband, but they're not terribly slow either.

Hear, hear.  I'm on dialup at 46,600 BPS [as of this connection], running the latest update of Firefox, and I'm not having any major trouble.  Yes, page loading [not just here, but elsewhere] could stand to be a smidge faster, but considering that I'm on 40+ year-old copper with a little bit of noise sometimes, it's not too bad.
 
Quote from: BEAR
So, sounds like something else might be going on if someone is getting really slow slow slow load times and has a connection that is 24kb-56kb and not stuck at 9600!! Maybe a virus or worm is messing wit de innards??

Could be the aforementioned noise.  When that on my line really acts up, my modem will try to connect as low as 24K or less.
 
Quote from: BEAR
PS. just tried "wap2" - geez that is fast!! takes ya instantly back 20 years on the internet in an instant!!  Grin Grin Heh heh...

Got that right.  Now, if it could only take the body back twenty years...  Grin
Logged

Michael

* * * * * * * * * *


Licensed Since 1990  Cheesy
w3jn
Johnny Novice
Administrator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4548



« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2012, 07:17:41 AM »

Note that this should be http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php?wap2.html
Logged

FCC:  "The record is devoid of a demonstrated nexus between Morse code proficiency and on-the-air conduct."
Ralph W3GL
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 745



« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2012, 02:33:48 PM »


Thanks John and oh, by the way, welcome back to the ZI...

Logged

73,  Ralph  W3GL 

"Just because the microphone in front of you amplifies your voice around the world is no reason to think we have any more wisdom than we had when our voices could reach from one end of the bar to the other"     Ed Morrow
k7iou
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 136


Johnson Viking Five Hundred


« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2014, 05:32:18 PM »

No one responded to my other post so I am replying here. iPhone 4, 3G will not load amfone.net or any variation thereof no matter which browser I use. Safari etc.
Works on wifi but not on the 3G network.
"Safari could not open the page because the server stopped responding."
I have no issues with 3G and other web sites.
What is the web master programming that will exclude someone with 3G and AT&T?
73 de k7iou
Interesting with these results; IE10 I hit F12 to look at the source and saw a bunch of errors and allot of code.
I then went to the history page of amfone and saw the simple web page so I typed into my iphone 4 on 3G the web page link and it worked. I think with the complication of the html code on the main pages Sarfi on 3G can't handle it?Huh??
Logged

de k7iou
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone © 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.045 seconds with 18 queries.