The AM Forum
April 28, 2024, 10:41:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: am radio hookup  (Read 9791 times)
libertyrules
« on: September 24, 2007, 07:47:32 PM »

Hello.  This is my first time to post - a question - so here goes.  I live in the SE corner of Colorado, and am reception is extremely limited.  I also live in a trailer.  I'm trying to build an am system that will pull in am stations as far away as Dallas tx (about 530 mi).  I read somewhere that a car radio, with its built-in shielding would be better for a trailer.  I bought a car radio, but it is the pull-out type, with no wires showing in back.  I may have to buy a regular car radio (the kind that doesn't pull-out) - I've seen them on Ebay, and they have the wires sticking out in back.  Anyway, I also bought a Tripplite PR-3 (3amp) 12V power supply.  I can rig an antenna, but what I'm sure about is how to hook up the car radio & speakers to the power supply.

Can anybody help me?
KF1Z

Are FETs supposed to glow like that?

« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2007, 08:00:11 PM »

Your best bet is to let us know what the model number of the radio is....

Is there a bundle of colored wires hanging out the back of the radio?

Never heard of the car radio being better because of sheilding, but that's beside the point right now.....

I will say, that if all you're interested in is the AM broadcast band.... you're all set....

But, for very little $$ you could get ahold of a portable shortwave reciever, and have a whole BUNCH of AM, SSB and FM broadcast, and Amateur stations as well to listen to....

That would be MY suggetion anyway....

But, if you're bound to the car radio....

Tell me the model number, and I'll look up the wiring diagram for it......

Bruce

libertyrules
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2007, 09:31:16 PM »