The AM Forum
May 03, 2024, 06:46:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: new to the forum  (Read 15132 times)
drradio
« on: April 12, 2007, 12:57:53 AM »

hello my name is frank,
im new to the forum and i have technical question.i am not a ham yet but have a kenwood reciever that i listen to on 3880 and 3885 khz.i love the audio quality of the transmitters that broadcast there.i am currently a cb radio operator that loves to restore old tube type cb,s like tram and browning golden eagles,my question is could these transmitters be modified to have that same broadcast quality audio.so far in a tram titan II i have changed the interstage coupling caps to .01 mfd. and that seems to allow some of the low end but sacrificed the highs.i am going to use a studio microphone called an octiva i believe thats the name but am not sure and a berhinger mixer.any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks frank
w3jn
Johnny Novice
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2007, 06:42:56 AM »

No reason why not.  I don't think too many have examined the possibility so you're sailing in uncharted waters.  Could be fun, though.  The weak point might be the modulation transformer... but take a look at the typical mods done for Rangers, Vikings, etc., and apply the lessons learned from those rigs to yours.  There shouyldn't be too many differences other than much lower level audio in the CB rigs.

FCC:  "The record is devoid of a demonstrated nexus between Morse code proficiency and on-the-air conduct."
WA1LGQ
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2007, 06:44:46 AM »