The AM Forum
April 29, 2024, 01:32:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 6 meter, 2 meter, 70 cm base or mobil rig  (Read 7537 times)
pintopete
« on: March 30, 2007, 06:23:07 AM »

Hi, I am new to Ham radio and have been trying to get a shack up and running.  I have a Drake TR-4Cw that was donated as a gift.  I am also looking at an Icom 735.  My question is; are there any transceiver rigs out there that cover 6m, 2m, and 70cm ranges?  My thinking was that the two rigs would provide full spectrum coverage.  Used is better because of my budget.  Thanks, Peter.    KC2RBX
AF9J
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 09:52:25 AM »

Hi Pete,

I've been operating on all 3 of those bands for 20 years (I do a fair amount of VHF & UHF, SSB & CW work, along with a smidgen of FM).  If you're looking for a rig that will cover, 6,2, and 70cm you will only have a few choices nowadays.  In rigs that are presently made:

Kenwood TS-2000
Yaesu FT-897D
Yaesu FT-857D
Yaesu FT-817D
ICOM - IC706 MkIIG

All of these rigs have HF through 70 cm capability.

Yaesu's FT-847, and FT-767 (both of which are available used) were also capable of doing HF through 70cm.

If you're looking for a VHF & UHF only rig, the only ones you'll find new, are HTs:

ICOM IC-T90A

With regards to used VHF & UHF only rigs: