The AM Forum
May 25, 2024, 02:39:04 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Re-attaching 811 plate contacts  (Read 9487 times)
KA1ZGC
« on: March 16, 2008, 12:40:15 PM »

Hey Guys,

I have the worst luck with 811s.

I pulled the toobz out of the Junkyard Dawg a little while ago, and when I pulled the plate cap off one of the 811s, the contact came right off the envelope, leaving just a piece of wire sticking out of the top of the glass.

The seal is still good, and it looks like I can re-solder it, but I'm wondering if there's anything else I can do at this point to help the situation.

Any caveats or helpful hints you guys can pass along? I've never done this before, and I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to help re-seat the cap so it's less inclined to pull off from the envelope in the future.

Thanks in advance.

--Thom
Ed-VA3ES

« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 01:29:46 PM »

Prep the plate cap in he following manner:   Get some J-B Weld.  Prep the solder hole in the cap by cleaning it out.   Put a very small amount of the J-B Weld  on the bottom of the cap.  Solder the cap to the wire, and press the cap down to force the J-B Weld onto the envelope.  (You may have to scrape the extra J-B Weld off).  Wait about 24  hours.    Done.

J-B Weld is highly heat resistant.

"There ain't a slaw-bukit inna worl, that kin jam me!!"
K1DEU
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 01:39:21 PM »

I have cleaned the Glass and dug and scraped out the plate cap. Then used Crazy Glue curing in a 70 degree room about an hour. Many times before, John
WBear2GCR

Brrrr- it's cold in the shack! Fire up the BIG RIG

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 10:12:51 PM »

I've been told that the flowable silicone rubber works ok fine here...
I have yet to try it.
They sell it at auto parts stores for windshield repairs among other uses.