The AM Forum
April 27, 2024, 11:19:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New to AM and need recommendation for class e  (Read 23401 times)
AB1GX
« on: March 13, 2007, 08:28:34 AM »

I'm new to AM and,  in fact, just appeared on ULS a few days ago (I'm a 'codeless extra').

I plan to build a class e transmitter for 80 meters, any recommendations?
Did some SPICE runs and got LCs of .35uH and .0025uF @250V & 70A.  It's hard to match the switching FET's 10 milliOhm Ron.  Wow!
Steve - WB3HUZ
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2007, 09:18:06 AM »

Tons of info at the links below. I'm sure some of the Class E guys will jump in here soon.

http://www.classeradio.com/

http://classe.monkeypuppet.com/
WA1GFZ

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2007, 09:22:13 AM »

go to ARRL site select QEX and down load the sample article for Nov 2005. It is actually pretty easy to match them. The hard part is driving the gate but Steve has found some drivers to take care of that.
These parts don't glow in the dark though. They let the light out all at once just before the smoke comes out. Still it is a lot of fun getting 5 KW peak out of a handful of plastic parts.
AB1GX
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2007, 12:46:16 PM »

Thanks for the pointers.

In the meantime, I'm going to crank up an old Swan 500C, unsuppress some carrier and join the 'ghetto' gang.
nu2b
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2007, 03:00:08 PM »

Hey Guys-This is a repeat of recent post on Steve's site.

Hey Folks,
Since I'm retired now,
I finally got off my butt and posted some Class-E design info at

http://www.qsl.net/nu2b/

Look under the "downloads" section.

If anyone finds this of interest or has any trouble with downloading stuff,
Please let me know.
Regards,
BobbyT
AB1GX
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2007, 10:08:21 PM »

Thanks nu2b, the filter software comes in quite handy.