The AM Forum
May 17, 2024, 11:46:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Odd Johnson Ranger  (Read 3350 times)
n8fvj

« on: August 09, 2023, 06:37:55 PM »

I received a Johnson Ranger today. Appears untouched in factory stock build. It does not have the keyer 12AU7 and missing the tube plate for the 6AL5 and 12AU7 on left front of chassis. No machine holes are on the chassis for the tube plate support. As if it was never there. Serial number 60600. Any ideas?
KD1SH

« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2023, 06:58:11 PM »

I have a Ranger 1 here, but I'm far from a Ranger expert. As far as I know, the earliest Ranger 1's didn't have what Johnson called their "differential keyer" at all; that came with later iterations. A very good Ranger reference, if you haven't see it:

https://www.frostburg.edu/personal/latta/ee/ranger/ranger.html

"Gosh, Batman, I never knew there were no punctuation marks in alphabet soup!"
—Robin, in the 1960's Batman TV series.
n8fvj

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2023, 07:36:59 PM »

1954 Ranger tube line up does not include a 6AL5, 5763 or the 12AU7 keyer per this post. How does this transmitter make bias voltage?

* handbookad1955cropsmall.jpg (105.23 KB, 413x556 - viewed 130 times.)
n8fvj

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2023, 08:18:16 PM »

I found 1954 schematic. The Ranger uses cathode bias on the 1614 tubes. This 1954 Johnson Ranger has about 30 less volts tube plate to cathode on the modulator tubes vs next year and later Rangers using a 6AL5 for 1614 tube bias voltage. What does the later Rangers 5763 tube perform vs this Ranger without the 5763 tube?
n8fvj

« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2023, 03:29:24 AM »