The AM Forum
April 27, 2024, 08:19:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Amp recommendation: Viking T-bolt vs. HK Warrior  (Read 2706 times)
KD2AZI

« on: January 02, 2020, 04:20:29 PM »

I have two amps available, and I have no experience using either of them.  I've scoured online posts, and eHam.net reviews about the Viking Thunderbolt and the Heathkit Warrior.  Both are in great shape and I've refurbished the Viking.

Do you have any suggestions, pros/cons of which one to use for my ART-13 setup?
tnx!

Happy New Year!

DMOD
AC0OB - A Place where Thermionic Emitters Rule!
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2020, 04:37:50 PM »

Since I am a fan of 4-400's I would use the T-Bolt for AM. The Warrior with its puny 811's pales in comparison.

Pages 12-15 describes how to feed and load up the T-Bolt for Class AB2 operation.

Phil - AC0OB

Charlie Eppes: Dad would be so happy if we married a doctor.
Don Eppes: Yeah, well, Dad would be happy if I married someone with a pulse.NUMB3RS   Smiley
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2020, 05:17:42 PM »

+1 for the T-bolt.   Johnson works on all bands, and since your familiar with it....   

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
kb3ouk

The Voice of Fulton County

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2020, 07:06:52 PM »