The AM Forum
May 07, 2024, 12:01:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hot Water Tank RFI  (Read 3211 times)
Roy K8VWX
Contributing

Pr. 4 -1000s Mod Pr. 5868

« on: September 20, 2015, 09:12:42 PM »

I have been attempting to submit  the following to the Rheem Corp. but so far have not been able to get through to them. Has anyone out there had this RFI problem from a mobile home hot water tank Huh  73 / Roy

In March 2015 my neighbor installed a new Rheem hot water tank in his mobile home. I am a amateur radio operator licensee extra class (K8VWX) and am having severe RFI (Radio Interference) in the 80 meter band.It has been traced to one of your 240 VAC electric hot water tanks. I'm guessing that you may be using a solid state thermostat  or dual ( SS stats ) if a upper and lower is required. The RFI is very unstable drifting up and down in frequency and has a rather constant repetitive BLEEP or pulse a few Khz down from the fundamental frequency. (It does have several harmonics also).

VE3AJM

« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2015, 10:19:25 AM »

Hi Roy

I've been helping a buddy of mine in his HVAC business, and from what hes told me, he can't think of any of the commonly available/installed hot water heaters that we install here that use solid state thermostats. They all use the common bi-metal type. Maybe there are others though.

What sort of circuit breaker did they use at the panel? Those GFI units etc have been known to create noise. Hopefully your neighbour will let you check it out.

Al VE3AJM
Roy K8VWX
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 07:01:30 AM »

Thanks Al