The AM Forum
April 27, 2024, 05:37:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HQ-170 Alignment Question  (Read 5194 times)
K2AWA

« on: January 05, 2016, 10:41:10 AM »

I'm somewhat new to the old receivers and trying to understand the inner workings.

For the most part I'm happy with the receivers performance and sound, but not with the dial frequency settings on 80m. The calibration is way off the mark with regard to the dial settings. Included is a picture of the dial where it receives 3.826.00, so I actually hit the end of adjustment before the end of the 80m band. The calibration is pretty good for both 40 and 20 meters though.

To me, that doesn't seem like a dial issue, so will an HF Oscillator adjustment remedy this situation for 80 meters? I certainly don't have the experience or equipment to perform this, but a ham I know has all that's needed. He has never tuned a boat anchor, but he said it shouldn't be too bad with a manual, which I downloaded.

Any guidance would be appreciated!

Thanks! 

Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2016, 11:18:29 AM »

Doing an RF/frequency alignment is not a complicated process if you follow and understand the steps given in the alignment procedure. However, given the vast range that the dial calibration is off on 80 meters, I might suspect you may have some component issues that are unique to the 80 meter band.

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
KB2WIG
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2016, 12:51:43 PM »

G,

What happens when you move that unmarked knob, the one next to your "Slot Depth"?

klc

What? Me worry?
aa5wg

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2016, 02:08:41 PM »

K2AWA,

Here is a youtube link for alignment help regarding Hammarlund radios.

https://www.youtube.com/user/dogtagsvette