The AM Forum
May 15, 2024, 11:30:46 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transient Supressor  (Read 3597 times)
W9ZSL
Contributing

« on: January 06, 2014, 05:21:17 PM »

I checked out DMOD's suggestion for an inrush protector and noted the NTE 4996 was recommended but is one or two used across the HV primary? The diagram looks like there are two or am I mistaken?  I've never used the circuit before so this is something new to me.  There is one spot which I have marked where the leads in the diagram cross and I assume there is no connection at that point.

* Supressor.jpg (145.07 KB, 1296x2048 - viewed 407 times.)
DMOD
AC0OB - A Place where Thermionic Emitters Rule!
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2014, 06:04:38 PM »

The symbol in question is LTSpice's symbol for a Bi-Directional Transient Suppressor, a single component. It is essentially two zeners back-to-back.

If you are using this in a 120V circuit you may want to use an NTE4983 or similar. I use them extensively to kill power transients and to extinguish relay contact arcing.

The schematic shows two, 10 Amp relay contacts in parallel.

LTSpice has a problem making connection "dots" in some cases. So the only wires that are not connected are those that cross with dashed lines.

I.E., any line that is solid and intersects another line is a connection.

Phil - AC0OB

* 120V Inrush Protection.pdf (19.78 KB - downloaded 153 times.)

Charlie Eppes: Dad would be so happy if we married a doctor.
Don Eppes: Yeah, well, Dad would be happy if I married someone with a pulse.NUMB3RS   Smiley
W9ZSL
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2014, 07:40:25 PM »