The AM Forum
May 18, 2024, 05:05:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 6 meter question  (Read 3338 times)
n9ysq
« on: October 20, 2012, 03:48:47 AM »

I am wanting to assemble a repeater for a single frequency on 6 meter AM. AM equipment is what I have and want to use. Is this feasible? I know nothing of repeater systems. What will I need in addition to the following: I have 2 radios, antennas, mast, rg8 coax, power supply. Is there much more? I know I need a basic controller, are there some homebrew ones? As you may have guessed I've never built one before. I don't know what I am doing and will have help later on. My help has never built one either but knows electronics in general. But not related so much to Ham equipment.  Ideas? 
K5WLF
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 04:17:32 AM »

http://www.arrowantennas.com/main/uconrtoller.html has a microcontroller that might do the job for you. It's not the most feature-loaded, but it works. If you want a more capable controller, try the CAT controllers at http://www.catauto.com/. We're using the CAT controllers on our K5IIY repeater here in Stephenville TX and having great results.
WB6NVH

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 11:25:41 PM »

What kind of radios?  What do you mean by "single frequency?"

AM is somewhat difficult to reliably operate a carrier operated relay from, among other things, but it is possible.

On FM, I have found that split sites are really the only practical way to go unless I wanted to spend the price of a good late model used car on a duplexer for 50 MHz.  Sites linked by UHF 420 MHz.