The AM Forum
May 15, 2024, 12:55:55 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Substituting 6146B for 2E26 in Gonset Communicator  (Read 7413 times)
W3BR

« on: March 30, 2012, 08:47:50 PM »

I am working on a very clean 6 meter gooney box and I've heard stories about this tube swap being very simple. However, there are some resistor changes and power supply concerns. I am new to the AM arae so any help is greatly appreciated--Bob
n1ps
Contributing

websdr http://sebagolakesdr.us:8901/

« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 09:04:13 PM »

I have not seen such a mod and would not bother.  Even if you can get increased RF power, the single 6l6 will not be able drive it I don't believe.

You're better off improving the audio chain IMHO.

If you want more RF, find a G50 or try to locate the matching amp for the Communicator.

My .02. 

Peter
W3BR

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 03:31:57 AM »

Thanks Peter but this is a well known mod  , I'm just looking for assistance from someone who has experience with it..
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2012, 03:53:27 PM »

I've been on 6 meters since 59, and used a lot of rigs over the years, and don't recall (You said, "this is a well known mod")  any mod like this done to the Communicator series. I don't even see the point.