The AM Forum
June 01, 2024, 12:37:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ART-13  (Read 10255 times)
Detroit47

« on: June 12, 2011, 03:20:13 PM »

I've been offered an ART-13 with the power supply and the reciver that was used with it. I have no experience with these are they any good they look nice.

73 N8QPC
N8ETQ

Mort

« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 04:06:52 PM »

Great Collins TX.  The RX was often a BC-348. That was an ARC-8 set
I think.  2-18 MC.  100w plus or minus depending on your supply.  Auto
tune is cool.  They are Fine AM TX's  IMHO.

/Dan
W3SLK

Just another member member.

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 04:40:16 PM »

Minor modifications, you can get that thing to work down on 160. Awesome TX. Neat to watch the autotune in action!

Mike(y)/W3SLK
Invisible airwaves crackle with life, bright antenna bristle with the energy. Emotional feedback, on timeless wavelength, bearing a gift beyond lights, almost free.... Spirit of Radio/Rush
WQ9E

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2011, 05:45:32 PM »

As the others stated, a fun transmitter.  Mine is paired with a Hallicrafters R-45/ARR-7  receiver (sort of an SX-28 repackaged for airplane service) with motorized sweep tuning.  They make an interesting mechanical pair.

There are numerous Electric Radio articles about the ART-13 including an important one to protect the life of the auto tune motor.  There are also a couple on adding 160 meter coverage. 

There are several youtube videos of the ART-13 auto tune in action which should help convince you to acquire it Smiley

Rodger WQ9E
KC2TAU

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2011, 05:52:33 PM »

What is the ballpark for value with these? I have an ART-13 on my wish list.
K5UJ
Contributing

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2011, 06:09:53 PM »