The AM Forum
April 26, 2024, 12:15:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Interesting 2 meter FM rig  (Read 14545 times)
WQ9E

« on: January 16, 2011, 09:18:51 AM »

With apologies to the "Church Lady" from SNL, could it be SATAN???

When I was a brand new young novice back in 1975 the oldest member of our local radio club had a couple of interesting rigs that were permanently burned into my memory; a Signal One CX-7A and a Brimstone 144.  The owner was Tom Braidwood W5BW who was very elderly by the time I knew him and he was full of interesting stories and had been a shipboard radio op including a stint on FDR's presidential yacht during WWII.  Tom traded his Signal One in on a much more reliable Yaesu FT-101B but he kept the Brimstone 2 meter rig.  A couple of years ago I picked up a CX-7A and recently I acquired a Brimstone 144.

The Brimstone 144 was one of the earliest synthesized rigs and appears to be well constructed.  This one had a flaky 5 volt regulator (apparently problematic even back then according to the service manual) but after replacement it works fine.  I need to find some matching front panel screws and then little Satan will be ready for action again.  It will make a fine companion for my Trio QR-666 general coverage receiver.

Does anyone know the back story on this rig?  Having a rig named Brimstone produced by Satan Electronics (complete with a pitch fork logo) with a synthesizer code named Warlock indicates the founder either had an odd sense of humor or some serious issues.

* brim1.JPG (240.41 KB, 1200x849 - viewed 1988 times.)

* B2.JPG (407.95 KB, 1200x800 - viewed 1421 times.)

* b3.JPG (339.33 KB, 1200x800 - viewed 1322 times.)

Rodger WQ9E
Fred k2dx

« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 01:30:55 PM »