The AM Forum
May 16, 2024, 03:27:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: johnson Viking II hammond 812 help need details  (Read 5478 times)
kc2etm

« on: February 06, 2010, 10:06:32 AM »

hi ive read some mods on this board about feeding my 807's with a hammond 812
but i have not found any real details about this i am new to tube am rigs
what i need to know is there an additional circuit involved here or is it as simple as feeding the secondarys of the transformer into the 807's i think i saw somewhere you need to add two resistors on the 807 side then your audio gear goes directly into the transformer could someone please calrify this for me as i have searched and searched but find people mentioning it but no detailed mods  the driver transformer is bad in my unit and i have a rack so i would like to just bypass the entire audio circuit in the viking II oh it is the cdc model by the way
thanks
fred
kc2etm
N4LTA
Contributing

« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 09:03:31 AM »

A you speaking about the current Hammond 812 transformer?

It is a low level broadcast quality transformer with a mic or line input to one or two grids. It can only stand 0.4 ma of DC bias and is rated at +15 dBm.
That is less than 40 mW.

Pat
N4LTA
kc2etm

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2010, 09:24:34 AM »

One place i saw this setup is here with a hammond 841
http://www.qsl.net/ve7khz/VikingII.html
the i saw it here with an 812
http://www.mail-archive.com/amradio@mailman.qth.net/msg17939.html

neither place really goes into alot
of detail but the 841 seems to be used
the way id like to do it
thanks
fref
N4LTA
Contributing

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 10:42:29 AM »