The AM Forum
May 13, 2024, 08:30:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Questions about 160 amp skemat  (Read 5264 times)
K5WLF
« on: January 30, 2010, 02:29:32 AM »

I'm considering building this 160 meter amp which uses a pair of 572Bs. Would there be any problem with substituting a pi output network for the tuned-link output that's shown in the schematic? Would there actually be any advantages? It seems that there'd be a better energy transfer to the antenna with the output going through a wire rather than "air coupled", but I've been wrong before and I'm new to building RF amps.

For now, I'll be driving it with my Yaesu FT-897D. The article doesn't have a power spec for the amp, but refers to "a kilowatt with key down". Figuring that's PEP will probably give me somewhere between 250-300 watts real AM carrier. Any input on that assumption will be appreciated.

The pi network calculator I'm using needs to know the plate impedance. Dividing the Ep of 2600 by a presumed 115 mA Ip at 300 watts output, I came up with 22600 ohms. The calculator goes a bit nuts and subs a Q of ~22 rather than the usual Q of 12 for the pi network. Am I figuring the Zp wrong or is that the correct value?

I've attached the schematic and the entire original article. Thanks in advance for any help y'all can offer.

ldb

* 160_amp_skemat_link.jpg (102.8 KB, 1056x816 - viewed 459 times.)
* 160m_linear.pdf (1085.63 KB - downloaded 232 times.)
WQ9E

« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2010, 08:03:24 AM »