The AM Forum
May 10, 2024, 07:46:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The "Cape of Cod" - Antennas  (Read 3825 times)
W1RKW
Contributing

« on: January 02, 2010, 02:28:52 PM »

The wife and I just got back from a couple of days up at the Cape.

Took a different route coming home which was a mistake.  Got slammed with the snow storm that is just off the coast. It was slow going but we made it home without to much trouble otherwise.  It's my first time using a 4WD vehicle so it was an easier drive on snow covered roadways. 

Anyway, while up at the cape just happened to notice some nice tower sites out along Rt 6A. I'm not sure what town it was, maybe Barnstable, there was a pretty tall tower with various arrays on it but the one thing that grabbed my attention was what looked like a capacitance hat on top of the tower. First time I've seen one of those on a commercial tower.

Coming back on the wrong route outside of Plymouth was a big tower site. Looked like a directional AMBC setup right around Rt 3/I-495.  It was hard to see with the heavy snow but the 4 maybe 5 towers in a straight line that were somewhat visible.  Saw several others while on our travels too. Some big stuff.

Bob
W1RKW
Home of GORT.
Bill, KD0HG

304-TH - Workin' it

« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 03:14:13 PM »

This website can probably help you ID the towers.

http://www.radio-locator.com/
AJ1G
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 03:51:42 PM »

Did you pass by/pass under the old WCC receiving site antennas out on Rt. 28 (I think) heading north out of Chatham?