The AM Forum
April 28, 2024, 09:40:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Pros and cons of various transmitters?  (Read 7497 times)
t11t2
« on: July 27, 2009, 10:34:04 AM »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to radio and trying to understand the difference between all the different types of transmitters (when/why certain types are used and where) and the pros and cons between products. Does anyone have any advice on how to learn more about this? Is there a primer that exists on this topic?

Thanks from a newbie!
W1GFH
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 11:36:23 AM »

Choices are infinite, from home brew to turn key appliance. What bands do you plan to operate on, what modes, what power levels, what kind of operating, ragchew, DX, hi fi, etc?
ka3zlr
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 12:15:28 PM »

And how much money are you willing to spend or invest depending on how you look at it..  I'd like to have a 32v2 another KW1..i'm on a fixed income so pickens are slim...and it's device dependent...a 100 watt Transmitter maybe up to 500 dollars....500 watt transmitter you can build Class E and save some money other wise a coupla grand depending on the device....stand back Read and take your time...

Jack.

t11t2
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2009, 01:02:25 PM »