The AM Forum
May 04, 2024, 09:52:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: newbe  (Read 7657 times)
timmcgraw
« on: November 06, 2007, 05:34:49 PM »

Hi I'm new to AM and would like some info on net times and freq's on 75meters and 40 meters , may be some feed back on my rig settings.
tnx TIM
Pete, WA2CWA

CQ CQ CONTEST

« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2007, 05:42:26 PM »

I have some of your albums Grin

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
timmcgraw
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2007, 06:03:03 PM »

Sorry I'm the unlucky Tim , The one with out gud looking Fath !
KA8WTK
Contributing

« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2007, 06:11:49 PM »

Howdy Tim,
  Welcome aboard! From the opening page of AMfone, click on the button for the AM Window. Under "Stuff" there is a listing of common frequencies and a section on nets.

Hope to work you sometime..........Bill KA8WTK

Bill KA8WTK
KB2WIG
Contributing

« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2007, 07:08:50 PM »

Thes'll get yew goin
3885  evening, night , morning
7290 morning , afternoon

and maybee

29.000 whenever its open
50.400 whenever its open

What? Me worry?
timmcgraw
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2007, 08:05:41 PM »

tnx to all for the help and info.
tonight was a bad night to check into 3.885. tried but conditions were bad. will try another night. still would like to get feed back on my rig set up, btw what's the best rice box to run AM, TS 850 or FT 990 ?
I have both.
Tnx TIM N8YI     
Mike/W8BAC
Contributing

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2007, 09:27:40 PM »

Hi Tim, Welcome! I don't know anything about your rigs but I do know you'll want to run about one quarter of the available output power for your carrier. If the rig is rated at 100 watts than 25 watts (give or take) will be the right carrier setting if you want to modulate it properly.