The AM Forum
May 27, 2024, 05:07:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cell Phone Ban vs Mobile Ham operations  (Read 9721 times)
WA2ROC
Contributing

« on: March 28, 2012, 08:05:48 AM »

One of my neighboring towns just passed a complete cell phone ban law while driving.  If you're moving, you can't be using your cell phone.

That would be Chapel Hill, NC.  You take Interstate 40 to Highway 501 and turn left.

WAAAAAAY left!

Now, just imagine Deputy Barney seeing me with my hand held mike up to my mouth talking on my mobile radio.  Wadda ya think he's gonna do?  Do you think he can "legally" pull me over?

Then along those lines, does anyone know if a law enforcement officer legally ask me to show him my amateur radio license to prove I am a licensed amateur?

Dick Pettit WA2ROC 
Vintage Heathkit Equipment
If You Cannot Stand Behind Our Troops, Please Feel Free To Stand In Front Of Them!
kb3ouk

The Voice of Fulton County

« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 09:55:12 AM »

I don't think that two-way radios would be counted under that law, or at least they shouldn't be. Think of it this way, what if said deputy gets a call over the radio while he's driving along in the patrol car and has to respond to it. Is he gonna pull over? Probably not. Same way with firefighters, highway department, and truckers.

Clarke's Second Law: The only way of discovering the limits of the possible is by venturing a little past them into the impossible
K7EDL
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 10:23:46 AM »

before using my radio there I would get a copy of the law and read it making sure it is ok to use the radio. I would then keep it in the vehicle to show the officer when I got pulled over.  The time in court is worse than the ticket.

Eric
WA2ROC
Contributing

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 10:37:25 AM »