Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
EF Johnson TBolt




 
The AM Forum
October 24, 2021, 11:52:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: EF Johnson TBolt  (Read 3341 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« on: April 07, 2021, 06:48:16 PM »

I have a Thunder bolt amp with a yl2gtm power rectifier board in it v1.o 4kv/5a. Can  any one give me any info on this product ?
not sure if it is installed correctly it was not finished installed  when I acquired the amp.   
Logged
KA2PTE
KA2PTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2021, 08:53:13 PM »

Sounds like something to maybe replace the original HV diode tube rectifiers it had. Got any photos?
Logged
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2021, 10:30:11 PM »

That is what it replaces the hi voltage rectifying tubes and caps will post pic's tomorrow 
Logged
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2021, 05:43:41 PM »

This is the board


* P4080565.JPG (2063.74 KB, 3648x2736 - viewed 257 times.)
Logged
W1NB
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2021, 07:27:01 PM »

What is it that you need to know about it?
Logged
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2021, 08:40:17 PM »

Just trying to get some info on it after I drew out the schematic of it I understand how it works
Logged
KA2PTE
KA2PTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2021, 10:53:31 PM »

Looks like (5) 450V caps in series for 2250V, then another set in parallel probably to filter the HV....and a string of diodes to I guess do the rectification.
Logged
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2021, 11:10:03 PM »

This is how it is wired


* IMG_0810.JPG (67.14 KB, 640x480 - viewed 232 times.)
Logged
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 417



« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2021, 06:52:46 AM »

Looks like it should work fine, although there are twice as many capacitors as the original PS Schematic.
Logged

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
w4bfs
W4 Beans For Supper
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1392


more inpoot often yields more outpoot


« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2021, 11:53:38 AM »

the extra capacitors are there in case the HV bleeder goes open .... this is very conservative design
Logged

Beefus

O would some power the gift give us
to see ourselves as others see us.
It would from many blunders free us.         Robert Burns
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 417



« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2021, 05:19:25 PM »

If ANY bleeder goes open all the other caps are going to bleed toward ZERO or to what ever leakage current the "open" cap goes to, just before it (probably) shorts from too much EMF.      

What value, and Voltage rating are the caps, something like 80-100F @450VDC?
Logged

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
Detroit47
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 581


N8QPC on your AM dial


« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2021, 12:50:40 AM »

Looks like it should work fine, although there are twice as many capacitors as the original PS Schematic.

There is only one 8uf filter cap on a stock T bolt. It has a choke input supply. Pretty funny.

N8QPC
Logged

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid."  Benjamin Franklin
Pete, WA2CWA
Moderator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7908


CQ CQ CONTEST


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2021, 01:06:11 AM »

Looks like it should work fine, although there are twice as many capacitors as the original PS Schematic.

There is only one 8uf filter cap on a stock T bolt. It has a choke input supply. Pretty funny.

N8QPC

There was two versions of the Thunderbolt with major changes in the HV supply. There were other minor changes between the two but for this thread, the discussion is HV power supply.
See attached



* tbolt-early.jpg (73.33 KB, 1063x489 - viewed 232 times.)

* tbolt-late.jpg (61.32 KB, 781x332 - viewed 229 times.)
Logged

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
w4bfs
W4 Beans For Supper
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1392


more inpoot often yields more outpoot


« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2021, 09:30:10 AM »

Mike ... what I see from the photo are 470 uF @ 450V Nichicons ... I agree with what you say about equalizing res across each cap ... I was referring to overall HV bleed resistance which is fairly low value and high wattage ... can you say wump at turn on   Grin
Logged

Beefus

O would some power the gift give us
to see ourselves as others see us.
It would from many blunders free us.         Robert Burns
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2021, 02:43:15 PM »

I have what appears to be the later one of the two models. I have installed in rush limiters in the path of the plate transformer the choke is in line with the caps I received no info of what was done with it the board has been modified from original configuration from what I can tell it was close to a Tbolt 2 power supply that I have acquired print of       
Logged
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1101


WWW
« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2021, 04:56:37 PM »

The one thing about those amps is that they were designed to use a CB set for a driver. Anything over around 3 watts is too much. Also, the power supply is very wimpy for those tubes. Under perfect conditions you can make 125 watts of AM but no more without losing your headroom.
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 417



« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2021, 10:21:34 PM »

As Carl mentions there were two distinct versions.  The second version up'd the capacity from 8uF to about 13uF, but47uF I'd say is far in excess of what's needed.   Mine still has the original 8uF Oil cap but before it goes on the ops bench again, it'll get the late model fix.

Logged

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
Pete, WA2CWA
Moderator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7908


CQ CQ CONTEST


WWW
« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2021, 12:22:05 AM »

As Carl mentions there were two distinct versions.  The second version up'd the capacity from 8uF to about 13uF, but47uF I'd say is far in excess of what's needed.   Mine still has the original 8uF Oil cap but before it goes on the ops bench again, it'll get the late model fix.

Is Carl here?? Grin
Logged

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
MikeKE0ZUinkcmo
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 417



« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2021, 07:18:25 AM »

Quote
...Is Carl here??  Grin...


CARL!! Who's Carl?  Carl's not here!! 

OOPS, Sorry Pete!!
Logged

Mike KE0ZU

Bold Text and PICS are usually links

https://mikeharrison.smugmug.com/
KA2PTE
KA2PTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53



WWW
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2021, 07:14:50 PM »

In my travels I learned the last chassis made was a 1961-63 date and they upgraded R3 (350 ohms) to a non inductive array and did away with the cartridge style. Seems like its (3) 1K /14W values as per the pic.
Winds up being lower than 350 ohms (333) but I believe the grids of the 4-400A's wont mind ans perhaps some benefit attained.

The other revision is the addition of R118 (270K / 1w) which in the event the bias cable is not plugged in, provides the grids of the 4-400A's with some bias to keep them happy.


* R3.jpg (49.24 KB, 592x249 - viewed 92 times.)

* r118.jpg (45.76 KB, 383x262 - viewed 83 times.)

* resistive.jpg (131.76 KB, 1072x562 - viewed 106 times.)
Logged
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7902



WWW
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2021, 09:38:00 PM »

80-100mA bleed on the plate supply to get into the critical zone for the 5-25H swinger - very manly, very classic. That's what I'm talkin bout.
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
KA2PTE
KA2PTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53



WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 06, 2021, 08:43:59 AM »

Well finally got my amp working really good after all the setbacks. Sept would have made it 3yrs
in the making. Learned alot, lots of helpful people here and on other sites made it possible.

I decided to create a support resource for the Viking Tube amps as some of them use similar parts
and they are becoming rarer all the time.

https://groups.io/g/johnson-tube-linears

I plan to post my journey there, and future plans, and hope more owners of those kind of tube amps join to make
it more fun.
Logged
N0YXO
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2021, 08:00:59 PM »

How do you post to the new group
Logged
Pete, WA2CWA
Moderator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7908


CQ CQ CONTEST


WWW
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2021, 12:58:33 AM »

How do you post to the new group

Got to sign up first to groups.io
https://groups.io/register
Logged

Pete, WA2CWA - "A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genius"
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.064 seconds with 18 queries.