The AM Forum
April 16, 2024, 12:40:35 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Rcvr with slowly decreasing RF sensitivity, but power on off restores full sens.  (Read 3579 times)
af6im
Contributing

AF6IM jumping from a C54G, 1999 Quincy Illinois.

« on: June 26, 2019, 06:00:49 PM »

I am a novice tube receiver troubleshooter and thought I'd ask for help from those more skilled than I am. On initially powering up RF sensitivity is great, but it declines over about a 30 minute period. If I switch the power off and on, full sensitivity is restored for a while. What is the most likely cause? I am guessing it's a cap but which circuit function cap is most likely to produce this symptom? I'm betting on something leaky in the RF amp section, perhaps a cap associated with a screen grid. The rcvr is a WW 2 vintage R 5A ARN 7 ADF. I've replaced all bad caps accessible on the chassis bottom but many more reside inside sealed shielded compartments mounted on the upper surface of the chassis. Any advice appreciated.
WD4DMZ

« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2019, 08:07:09 PM »

Not too long ago I had a Hammarlund HQ145x that did that. Turned out to be a tube that worked until it got hot. It was either in the front end RF amp or first IF section. The tubes all tested good so I started swapping them out with known good ones starting at the RF amp. I was lucky that the first or second tube replacement solved the problem.

Rich
KK4YY

Your best isn't as good as you can be.

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2019, 08:12:28 PM »

You can try making DC voltage measurements at initial turn-on and then again after the trouble is evident. When you see a change, you've found where to start looking for the problem.

Don

All your worries won't add a day to your life, or make the ones you have any happier.
DMOD